About Us


The International Network for Social Policy Teaching and Research is composed of deans and program directors from social policy and public policy schools at universities around the world. The Network’s purposes are:

  1. develop collaborative international networks (through blogs, etc.) among leading social policy teachers and researchers;
  2. facilitate distance learning programs, from informal seminars and colloquia to joint, for-credit courses;
  3. encourage joint programs as well as inter-school faculty and student exchanges, for entire semesters or shorter periods;
  4. provide a repository on teaching materials (syllabi, exercises, workbooks, etc.) useful to teaching in a wide gamut of international settings;
  5. serve as a platform to the interchange of effective teaching techniques; from statistics to policy analysis to social media;
  6. assist new and emerging schools to conceptualize curricular, teaching, degree requirements, and administrative and staffing issues; and
  7. sponsor an annual invitational research and teaching meeting.

In addition, the Network serves as the Advisory Board to the Oxford University Press Library on International Social Policy.


*African Economic Research Consortium, Nairobi, Kenya: Lemma W. Senbet, Executive Director; Innocent Matshe, Training Director, representative

*American University of Beirut, Department of Arts and Sciences, Beirut, Lebanon: Patrick McGreevy, Dean

*Australian National University, Research School of Social Sciences, Canberra, Australia: Adam Graycar, Professor

University of California, Berkeley, Goldman School of Public Policy, Sudha Shetty, Assistant Dean

University of California, Berkeley, School of Social Welfare, Berkeley, CA, USA: Jeff Edleson, Dean; Neil Gilbert, Professor, representative

*Catholic University of the Sacred Heart, Department of Political and Social Sciences, Milan, Italy: Guido Merzoni, Dean; Gian Paolo Barbetta, Professor, representative

Center for Research and Teaching in Economics, Department of Public Administration, Mexico City, Mexico: Edgar Ramirez de la Cruz, Professor

*Central European University, School of Public Policy, Budapest, Hungary: Wolfgang Reinicke, Dean

*Charles University, Department of Public and Social Policy, Prague, Czech Republic: Martin Potucek, Guarantor and Professor

*Diego Portales University, Public Policy Institute, Santiago, Chile: Gregory Elacqua, Director

Fudan University, School of International Relations and Public Affairs, Shanghai, China: Yijia Jing, Associate Dean

Hertie School of Governance, Berlin, Germany: Helmut Anheier, Dean

*Higher School of Economics, Department of Public Administration, Moscow, Russia;: Alexey Barabashev, Academic Supervisor

University of Hong Kong, Department of Social Sciences, Hong Kong, China: John P. Burns, Dean

*University of Purdue, USA: David A. Reingold, Professor

*Inter-American Dialogue, Washington, D.C., USA: Ariel Fiszbein, Director of Education

*KDI School of Public Policy and Management, Seoul, South Korea: Sang-Moon Hahm, Professor and former Dean

KIMEP University, Department of Public Administration, Almaty, Kazakhstan: John Dixon, Former Dean

Kyonggi University, Graduate School of Public Administration and Social Welfare, Seoul, South Korea: Neunghoo Park, Dean

*University of Maryland, School of Public Policy, College Park, MD, USA: Douglas Besharov, Professor

University of Minnesota, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, Minneapolis, MN, USA: Eric Schwartz, Dean

National Law School of India University, Centre for the Study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policy, Bangalore, India: Sony Pellissery, Associate Professor

*National University of Distance Education, Department of Social Work, Madrid, Spain: Antonio López Peláez, Professor

National University of Singapore, Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, Singapore: Kenneth Paul Tan, Vice Dean

*New York University, NYU Shanghai Campus, Shanghai, China: Scott Fritzen, Associate Provost

*University of Oxford, Department of Social Policy and Intervention, Oxford, UK: Martin Seeleib-Kaiser, Head

*University of Eastern Piedmont, Institute of Public Policy and Collective Choice (POLIS), Alessandria, Italy: Alberto Martini, Associate Professor

University of San Andrés, Program of Political Science and International Relations, Victoria, Buenos Aires, Argentina: Marcelo Leiras, Director

Sciences Po Lyon, Institute of Political Studies of Lyon, Lyon, France: Gilles Pollet, Dean

*Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Centre for Public Policy and Governance, Mumbai, India: Venkatesh Kumar, Chairperson

*Tilburg University, TiasNimbas Business School, Tilburg, the Netherlands: Chris de Neubourg, Professor

Tsinghua University, School of Public Policy and Management, Beijing, China: Lan Xue, Dean

*United Nations University, Institute for the Advanced Study of Sustainability, Tokyo, Japan: Jose Puppim de Oliveira, Senior Research Fellow

*Vienna University of Economics and Business, Institute for Social Policy, Vienna, Austria: Christoph Badelt, Rector; August Österle, representative

University of Washington, Evans School of Public Affairs, Seattle, WA, USA: Sandra Archibald, Dean

*Western Michigan University, School of Social Work, Kalamazoo, MI, USA: Hector Diaz, Director

*Yonsei University, Department of Public Administration, Seoul, South Korea: Tae-joon Lah, Chair

*Attended organizational meeting in Madrid, September 25-26, 2014, or sent representative.

Founding Members

  • Maryland School of Public Policy
  • University of California, Berkeley
  • Maryland School of Public Policy